Fran├žais
B F Formal Bioinformatics

Ongoing projects

HyClock : Hybrid Formal Modelling of Time for Circadian Clock Biology and Chronopharmacology
type: ANR
members: iBV, RBC, I3S, IRCCyN, INRIA.
period: 2014-2018
The general objective of HyClock project is (i) to offer the proof of principle that hybrid modelling outperforms classical formal methods for studying the properties of the mammalian CTS and (ii) to apply this approach to better understand the circadian clock-cell cycle-cancer connection and their impact on cancer chronopharamcology and chronotherapeutics.

The HyClock project gathers a multidisciplinary team of experts in computer sciences, mathematical modelling, chronobiology and chronopharmacology to develop novel formal methods and hybrid modelling frameworks and to apply them to the analysis and understanding of the mammalian circadian clock. Our goal is to perform a sufficient number of abstractions in order to be able to exhaustively identify the possible parameter values, using computer aided formal reasoning while preserving a good quality of the model, in such a way that the abstractions do not damage its predictive capacity. This novel modelling strategy will be first used to predict and analyse how the coupled circadian clock-cell cycle network responds to physiological synchronisation in healthy cells with consequences on proliferation. Second, we will investigate in vivo using experimental design guided by these hybrid models how we can reinforce CTS coordination of the host through synchronisation, in order to improve the tolerability to treatments using the widely used anticancer targeted agent everolimus (mTOR inhibitor) and cytostatic chemotherapeutic agent irinotecan as model drugs.

Past projects

BioTempo : Languages, time representations and hybrid models for the analysis of incomplete models in molecular biology
type: ANR
period: 2011-2014
This project starts from the observation that existing modeling frameworks for biological systems are relatively poor for handling time information. The goal is here to combine 3 complement current approaches (static models, time series models and chronometric models) in order to provide a wider framework for the interpretation of biological data.
CIRCLOCK : Modeling of the circadian clock
type: PEPII
members: iBV, IRCCyN, I3S.
period: 2011-2013
The goal of this project is the modeling of the circadian clock in humans taking into account time information. The initial idea is based on the observation that the time information is generally underused because it does not yet exist modeling framework that can handle it correctly.

English
B F Bioinfo Formelle

Projets en cours

HyClock : Hybrid Formal Modelling of Time for Circadian Clock Biology and Chronopharmacology
type: ANR
partenaires: iBV, RBC, I3S, IRCCyN, INRIA.
durée: 2014-2018
L'objectif du projet HyClock est (i) d'offrir la preuve de principe que la modélisation hybride surpasse les méthodes formelles classiques pour l'étude des propriétés de l'horloge circadienne et (ii) d'appliquer cette approche afin de mieux comprendre les connexions entre l'horloge circadienne, le cycle cellulaire de cellules cancéreuses et leur impact sur la chronopharmacologie du cancer et sur la chronothérapie.

Le projet HyClock rassemble une équipe multidisciplinaire d'experts en informatique, modélisation mathématique, chronobiologie et chronopharmacologie afin de pouvoir développer de nouvelles méthodes formelles et des cadres de modélisation hybride. Le but est de les appliquer à l'analyse et la compréhension de l'horloge circadienne chez les mammifères. Notre objectif est de réaliser un nombre suffisant d'abstractions afin d'être en mesure d'identifier de manière exhaustive les valeurs de paramètres possibles, en utilisant un raisonnement assisté par ordinateur. Les différentes abstractions ne doivent pas altérer la qualité qualité du modèle, du moins en se qui concerne les capacités prédictives souhaitées. Cette nouvelle stratégie de modélisation sera d'abord utilisé pour prédire et analyser comment leecouplage horloge circadienne / cycle cellulaire répond à la synchronisation physiologique dans les cellules saines, avec des conséquences sur la prolifération. Deuxièmement, nous étudierons, en se servant des modèles hybrides pour concevoir les expériences à faire, comment renforcer la coordination de l'horloge circadienne, afin d'améliorer la tolérance aux traitements par anticancéreux.

Anciens projets

BioTempo : Langages, concepts de temps et modèles hybrides pour l’analyse de modèles incomplets en biologie moléculaire
type: ANR
durée: 2011-2014
Ce projet part de la constatation que les cadres de modélisation actuels pour la biologie sont relativement pauvres du point de vue de la prise en compte du temps. Le but est donc de combiner et compléter les 3 approches actuelles (modèles statiques, modèles chronologiques et modèles chronométriques) pour proposer un cadre plus large pour l'interprétation des données biologiques.
CIRCLOCK : Modélisation de l'horloge circadienne
type: PEPII
partenaires: iBV, IRCCyN, I3S.
durée: 2011-2013
Le but est la modélisation de l’horloge circadienne chez l’homme en prennent en compte des informations temporelles. L’idée initiale repose sur la constatation que les informations temporelles sont sous exploitées car il n’existe pas encore de cadre de modélisation pouvant les exploiter correctement.